22 Kommentare zu „Eric Reid: Why Colin Kaepernick and I Decided to Take a Knee

  1. In my opinion, to take a knee is a great and peaceful way to protest and show condolence for the victims of police brutality. That is why I think, this movement should be more expanded and replace brutal protests, where often innocent people were injuried or killed. Furthermore I believe that white people should be more informated about this police brutaly situation, because then they could insert for no violence against black people.

    Like

  2. I think that Colin Kaepernick is a real hidden hero, because he started doing the protest in early 2016 and even when no one noticed it until 26.8.2016.That means that he never gave up and I respect his behavior and spirit. They stand up for the victims of racism and police brutality in America and it is just like what Eric wrote, that without any action the faith is dead. So Eric and Colin took a knie, but there is always people who don’t understand it like the US president Donald Trump. It’s unbelievable that he called the rasists as good people but I think Eric and Colin won’t be stopped by him. I also hope they will get more people on their side.

    Like

  3. I was very shocked when I heard about the brutal police attacks against black people in the USA and about President Trumps comment to the occurrence in Charlottesville. I’m convinced that people should not remain silent when such things happen. Especially a non-violent protest of well known people is a great sign against oppression and racism. I am deeply impressed by the fact that Colin Kaepernick risks his football career to stand for his opinion and Eric Reid is prepared to do the same. Many people, black or white, all around the world should join them and show their solidarity.

    Like

  4. Personally, I think that police brutality and the oppression against black people is a problem deeply rooted in the US society. I agree with Eric that racism and white privilege are both very much alive today.
    I cannot deny that I sympathize with the idea of equality for all people, no matter their race or gender.It irritates me that the kneeling during the national anthem can be seen as a disrespectful gesture because for centuries it was a sign of total respect: To kneel before the king.
    I am confinced that both are proud to be American and I am shocked of the fact that a member oft the N.F.L., whose performance on the field was so good, was thrown out of the team just because he tried to show up a national problem. On the other hand I am confident on the future as long as people stand up for what is right, to ensure that we could live in a fair and free society, like Eric and Colin did.

    Natalie Ecker

    Like

  5. My personal view is that this step is very meaningful. That is why I do not understand people who disrespect these men wanting to better the world we live in by fighting against racism. As far as I understand neither Colin Kaepernick nor Eric Reid wanted to hurt, insult or despise anybody with this sign of piece.
    In my opinion initiatives like this need to be supported by more people to spread the message of living a peaceful Iife, respecting and treating others the way we would wish to be treated.
    In my experience the only way to achieve these goals is to participate and campaign immediately.

    Like

  6. I agree with Eric Reid that racism and white privilege are both very much alive today in the USA. In my opinion it is unnecessary to handle black and white people differently.
    Personally I think that Colin Kaepernick is a real hero because he started a little protest for himself against police brutality. As far as I understand i find it unfair that Colin Kaepernick was hatet for his kneeing althougt he tried to do the right and I feel great respect for Colin and Eric that they risks their football career to protest for a better world!

    Like

  7. The first thing I want to say is that it’s terrifiying how big the amount of racism is these days, especially in the USA. But I’m very impressed by what Colin and Eric had done and do for protesting against it, they have my biggest respect because you can’t take it for granted that they risk their football career for starting a protest, even if it’s peaceful.
    I don’t really understand why some people think that this is disrespectful against the country. We live in a free society and this includes the freedom of speech also in a protest. At the end I want to say that if we really want to be the world a better place we should start being a part or support things like that.

    Like

  8. I really admire Eric Reid and Colin Kaepernick for finding a way to respect those who lost their lives through police brutality. Someone’s skin colour or religion, has nothing to do with the person he/she is. We are all just human it doesn’t matter what I believe in or what colour my skin has. So why kill black people? I am of the same opinion as Eric Reid, we should not betray those who are being oppressed by being silent. The world need more people like Eric & Colin.

    Like

  9. When I read the article I was very shocked how some people misunderstood the meaning of a gesture of silent protest against police violence and brutality. I absolutely cannot understand how people could say that this was a disrespectful way of showing compassion to the families of the victims. Personally, I think Eric Reid wrote this article because he wanted to explain himself and how people reacted, what his actions meant and what circumstances to this tragedy of misunderstanding led.

    Like

  10. I don’t think that the gesture of kneeling during the anthem was disrespectful to the country, and I was upset as I read, that Colin Kaepernick got unemployedjust because he did something in honor of the innocent people which were victims of police violence. I think people should see him and Eric Reid as idols and not as radical un-Americans, because they were brave enough to stand up for what they thought was right. I never understood people which judge you just because of the colour of your skin. Your race doesn’t define who you are as a person, and if you’re good, does it matter at all?

    Like

  11. I’m speechless. How is this even possible? How can there still be racism and people in this world, who think that skin colour matters in any way? And how dare they treating them different and even shoot them? I can’t even describe how disappointed and ashamed I am about what’s happening.
    But the more I truly admire people like Colin and Eric. They stand up for what they believe in, they don’t just remain silent, but really take action. What they did was such a compassionate and great hertbreaking gesture, how could it get misunderstood and got Colin kicked out of the team? They’re such brave man, even this little gesture can induce a lot.
    They have my deepest respect and the world needs more people like them.

    Like

  12. I think that kneeling during the national anthem isn’t disrespectful, and that this was a great gesture from those players. It also shows us that the president of the United states is a racist because he abuses these player and says that people like them shouldn’t play in the NFL. And I think that more people should do something like that against racism. And it is shocking that the police officers who shot these black people weren’t convicted.

    Like

  13. In my opinion, I think it´s a great pity that nowadays there is still such a big hate on people with different skin colors. It doesn´t matter how you look, where you come from or which religion you belong to. Man remains man. That is why I think, it was a terrific movement by Eric Reid and Colin Kaepernick, to protest against racism, although they risked their career. With this gesture they get my full respect.
    It was just a little gesture but I hope it has been a big eye-opener for humanity.

    Like

  14. I think it’s an admirable sign. It’s sad that some people misunderstand this gesture against racism. I think it’s also important to protest but not with violence. The knee thing was a good ‘statement’ because it is a respectful and peaceful gesture, just like Eric mentioned. Also it’s a very notable move because his career could end just like Colins did. I admire him because he says the truth about what Donald Trump do and that racism hadn’t ended yet, and will never end till we do something against it.

    Like

  15. I’m very upset when I read things like this, Colin Kaepernick’s only intention was to show his respect for the victims of police violence in America and they unemployed him for that. I think the people in America should inform themselves better, beause they did something we all should be proud of. They risked it all for justice and to show their respect. My honor goes to them!

    Like

  16. This article shows how there are still people on this planet who don’t believe in the good. It’s really frustrating because we know for a fact that the majority of the human race nowadys is aware of racism. And what makes me sad is that politicians like Donald Trump could spread even more awareness of how important it is to see each other equal and appreciate that no one looks the same, it’s what makes every single one of us unique. I’m happy that Colin Kaepernick and Eric Reid stand up for such terrible but real issues and risk indeed their reputation and career.

    Like

  17. I think that this is a good way to show the world that you are not happy with the current situation in the USA. Racism is a very bad thing and I think that protesting against it is an important step into a better world. Colin Kaepernick’s protest of course can be missunderstood, but if someone really understood it wrong then this person maybe didn’t think about it very much or doesn’t even want to understand it.

    Like

  18. First of all I really have to say, that he earned my respect. I am very sure that he earned not just mine, but the respect of all people involved. He did the best he could to set a sign against racism.

    I do, just like he does, think, that the people simply misunderstand this gesture. I do not think, that it is disrespectful in any form. You can compare it, just like he does, with a flag flown at half-mast, to mark a tragedy. And in my opinion it really is a tragedy, that people get shot by policemen, just because they have a darker skin tone. It is a shame, that racism is still present all over the world, and even in such a high-developed country, like the USA are.

    Fabian Pitsch.

    Like

  19. I think it’s unbeliveable how brutal the Police officers are to black people.
    The white population even don’t know how horrible things they do with them.
    Eric Reid and Colin Kaepernick have it done right because if nobody protest against Donald Trump, the attacks on black people will never end.
    I’m happy, that Eric Reid and Colin Kaepernick take a knee because they show, that there is still hope and humanity in America
    They have my respect because they put their career and their lives on play only to show that america finally has to do what against Trump.

    Like

  20. I think that Colin and Eric have done a great job, they are very exemplary persons because both of them invested much money and time into the protest especially Colin. I was really shocked that the team turned their backs on Colin, he showed how courageously he actually is. The police should definitly stop to be so brutal and mean to coloured people, at least we are all human and it doesn´t matter which colour I have.

    Like

  21. I´m so shocked that nowadays there is still so much racism and I think that it´s very good how they protested. I think that more people should set a statement like this in the world it maybe helps to stop the bad things, like racism in the world. All People are the same and i can´t understand how some can´t accept others and have to kill them especially Police officers.

    Like

  22. In my opinion they did a great job standing up against racism in such a rare way.It makes no sense to disrespect people with a different skin tone or a different religion or even to get shot for being themselves and living the way they are.It was very weird to me,that people actually misunderstood the message against police brutality and racism.And as Neil Armstrong said:“Thats one small step for a man,one giant leap for mankind“.

    Like

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar