22 Kommentare zu „Why climate change is creating a new generation of child brides

  1. My idea of climate change was marked by melting ice floes and apocalyptic waves including the destruction of entire coastal regions. I was not aware of the sociopolitical change in Africa and millions of young girls marrying far too early and getting pregnant at such a young age.
    I knew that poverty is the key factor to forced decisions but I was shocked that 70% of the population lives below the poverty line and another 25% lives in extreme poverty.
    With this knowledge I can comprehend that some decisions are made in pure despair: Parents are hoping that their own child will have a better life without any fear or hunger and thus agree to marry, despite the young age.
    I hope that the world will be a better place for everyone in some years.

    Like

  2. My personal opinion is that the article shows a very different but also important aspect of global warming. I find it very shocking and repelling that children at age 15 have to marry and become pregnant because of the damage we do. Furthermore I think that there shouldn’t be any person who has to suffer from our egoism. On these grounds next time we throw a plastic bottle into the wrong dust bin we should remind ourselves of how many childhoods we destroy through one action of recklessness.

    Like

  3. Firstly I want to mention that this article made me insanely sad.
    Reading about all the lost childhoods of young people who could have become singers, artists or dancers made me feel greatly unhappy.
    I did not know about this damage climate change causes. The first thing many people, including me, think of, when they hear the word climate change, is just the rising of temperature but in my opinion we need to think one step further by bringing to mind that there are even worse catastrophes caused by our wasteful lifestyles.

    Like

  4. I can see the link between climate change and child brides now, but I never would have thought of that. It seems very absurd at first, but when you hear why, it makes sense. The number of child brides, and that 30 to 40% of it are due to the floods and droughts caused by climate change, did really shock me, it is a lot higher than I expected it to be. But when the girls and the girl’s family both have a better life after the marriage, then I think it’s the better choice, rather than both living a life lower in quality. And when their husband treats them right and they can still visit their family, I think it’s the best option for everyone. Although of course there definetly shouldn’t be such things and we should try with all means to stop climate change and make this world a better place for everyone.

    Like

  5. I honestly don’t know what to say. I got very upset reading this. I just can’t believe that these things are really happening in this world. The number of girls getting married and becoming a mother at such a young age shocked me. What also shocked me, is how bad the climate is changing and how much the people are suffering because of that. We really should take more care of the enviroment.

    Like

  6.  It is very sad that so many young girls can not go to school and have to marry because of the climate change. I think it must be horrible for the parents if they can not raise their child because they do not have enough money.

    The saddest thing about all this is we do not really recognize all the bad things happening around us even if we are partly responsible for it. We have the money to produce as many things as we want and we do it. We produce for example machines and plastic. We produce so many things which are bad for out nature and one impact is that people who were already poor get poorer.

    Like

  7. When I finished reading the article, I was shocked.
    I didn´t know that the climate conditions are so bad in some countries that it is the reason why parents aren´t able to care for their children, so that girls have to marry at a young age to survive.
    I can understand that the parents want the best for their daughters, but I don´t know if this is the best solution,

    In my opinion, WE are the only solution to make a difference.

    Like

  8. When I read the headline „Why climate change is creating a new generation of child brides“, my only thought was „This is too absurd to be true“. I’ve read this article and it’s still too absurd to be true.
    Child brides exist way longer than we are aware of the climate change. Maybe it’s wrong to say it that way but child brides belongs to the African culture. I think, when you ask the right questions, you always get the answers you want, even if these aren’t true

    Like

  9. When I read the article I was really shocked and upset, becuase we don´t really recgognize that we are responsible for some of these things, that are mentioned in the article. I was also shocked about the number of young girls getting married and pregnant way too early. We should make everyone aware of these big problems and also should take more care of the enviroment to make this world a better place.

    Like

  10. I was really sad and shocked when I read the article.
    I think too less people know how the situation with climate change is in countries like Africa.
    I find it very sad that girls get married so young and also that they must accept the mother role so early.
    The one girl said that she would like to go to school furthermore but know she is a mother and can’t do this anymore, it sounds so sad.
    I was so happy when I read that the goverment changed that they can’t get married until they’re 18.
    Maybe after this article some of us would think twice before they do something that supports the climate change.

    Like

  11. For me it was interesting to read this article, because I haven‘ t knewn anything about the topic „Why climate change is creating a new generation of child brides“.
    In my personal view it’s a terrible thing to mariage very young girls and let them get pregnant.
    Also shocking for me is, how bad the climate is changing and that many people especially in Africa are suffer from that. We should take more care of the enviroment and look what you can do for your own against climate change!

    Like

  12. I was shocked when I read the article, because we are also responsible for some of the climate change. And so we are also in a way responsible that there is no water in some African regions. It’s really sad that parents have to ’sell‘ their daughters in a way, so that their families can survive. But It’s just unbelievable that the president of the United States says that the climate change doesn’t exist. Maybe we could force projects which are helping those people in Africa.

    Like

  13. I think it’s already enough what humans have done with the earth. Also climate change- I was thinking about trash islands, traffic and bad air, etc. and now, hearing about so young women or girls- my age!!- are getting married because their parents can’t afford her anything. I can’t express how upset I am about this. It’s also a big step back in time according to women’s rights and also humans rights. It’s absolutely shocking that a family has to send away their child. I think it’s also unfair that we hear not enough about all this in Europe. And then people like Trump become president. Amazing how history repeats itself.

    Like

  14. It’s really disappointing , that people have to suffer because of us.
    So please, girls with 13 years had to get married and get childs beacause of us.
    In my opinion its very sad that Childs has to make Childs.
    It’s good to hear ,that the goverment change and you can only married when you’re 18 but it will still were people, childs who married with young age.
    When we don’t even do something for the climate change, our World will perish

    Like

  15. This article really made me think. Humans are enormous egoists. Most of us are not even aware of what a big part climate change for girls across Africa is. 4.4million girls have to marry before they were 15 and one third of this crime is the consequence of globale warming! this is insane. They have no choice, because their parents are not able to take care of their kids anymore, when the river dries out with all the fishes in it, or the heat destroys the crop. we can’t ignore this and have to do something, now.

    Like

  16. I have already heard many facts about the global warming and climate change, but this article shows consequences I have not realized so far. Environmental changes cause a lot of problems especially for poor families in Africa.
    I can hardly imagine how parents must feel when they have no other choice than to give away their daughters and how these young girls feel when they are forced to marry. Most of them drop out of school and without education they have less opportunities for the future. Getting pregnant at such a young age is also very dangerous.
    It is really unfair, that climate change hits poor countries harder although it is caused by rich nations in the USA and Europe. We all should be aware of our responsibility and try to reduce our carbon footprint so that all people can live a good life in this world.

    Like

  17. I think it‘s horrendous how many girls are getting married at such a young age. I didn‘t know that climate change is the cause of that. I also think that it‘s really sad that many families have to „give“ their daughter to someone else just because they can‘t afford to feed them and pay for their education. I hope that we can change our lifestyle and thus slow the climate change down so young girls can have a normal childhood.

    Like

  18. I think that climate change causes a lot of problems, but girls in Africa marrying at a very young age is really nothing new and I think that it is stupid to blame climate change for that. We can not try to find a reason why the girls there are marrying so young because it has been tradition there for many years and we also can not just come and change the things there to how we think it is correct. Probably for them it is not normal that women give birth to their first child after the age of 20, 30.

    Like

  19. I already knew, that many people have to struggle with poverty and to take care of their children. I was also aware of the fact, that climate change has become a big issue. But I would never have thought, that these two issues were that much related to each other. I really was shocked, that climate change forces families to give away their loved ones, because they cannot be sure if there will be enough food for everyone.

    Like

  20. This article made me think even more about the problems that climate change causes. Marrying at such a Young age just to rescue yourself and family is so obouxious to me. I heard very often about global warming in the past but I never thought it was that bad. Dropping out of school, getting pregnant underaged is so horrible. It must hurt so much giving away your daughter to strangers, so you and your other children can have enough food to live. We have to do something against it or it´ll never stop and may get worse.

    Like

  21. I’m seriously shocked. While we sit here and complain about unnecessary things, some girls in parts of our world can’t even have a normal childhood. I wasn’t aware of the fact that Cimate change also causes problems like this. The numbers of child brides are insane. Honestly I feel guilty, because many f us are so ungrateful for what we have. And so man of us don’t care about our environment at all, we behave very wasteful. We all should start now to care more about our lifestyle and inform ourselves wat we cann do to stop climate change.

    Like

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar